Your Solstice Chocolate gift guide

Ten chocolate bars that make excellent gifts.

I know most people celebrate Black Friday tomorrow instead of Pie Day Friday, so here’s a gift guide I’ve been wanting to put together for a long time.

I know I shouldn’t have favorites, but Solstice Chocolate has long been one of mine. Their bars are delicious: they are smooth and each origin is showcased so you can taste different notes, regardless of how much chocolate experience you have.

I could write a love letter to each bar, but I’d like to highlight just a few so my enthusiasm isn’t too overwhelming, haha. (And if you have questions about any that I don’t mention, PLEASE reply back and I’m happy to chat with you about it!)

Also, I’m so excited to announce that I have a discount code for you, CHOCOLATIST25, in true Black Friday fashion! Read to the bottom for details!

Matt Montgomery

I often give Solstice as gifts: baby showers, Christmas presents, pick-me-ups for hard life events, you name it. One bar is lovely and three or more is not only a treat, but a tasting experience of its own. Honestly, my favorite is to take someone through all the bars to help people find their favorites. Pretend that I’m giving you little squares of chocolate right now.

Sambirano Madagascar: The chocolate bar that started it all. When I first took a chocolate tasting class at Caputo’s, this was the bar that shocked me the most because I could taste bright, fruity flavors, but they told me there wasn’t any fruit in it! This is always a great one to introduce others to single origin chocolate — the tasting notes are punchy.

Tranquilidad Bolivia: This is one I always come back to. Sometimes it is so fruity, other times I get the strongest honey note. It also comes in a milk chocolate which tastes like the dreamiest Score bar. (I love a chance to compare an origin in dark and milk chocolate.)

Bundibugyo Uganda: Another favorite! This bar tastes like the most perfect brownie. I love it.

If I were buying three bars for someone, I would get the Madagascar, Bolivia and Uganda for a round tasting experience. You get the knock-out fruitiness of the Madagascar, the smoothest texture with the Bolivia and the earthy, nuttiness of the Uganda. It is such a fun trip around the world through chocolate.

Bến Tre and Đăk Nông Vietnam: There is something especially fun about trying two origins from the same country. These two have those warm, Christmas-y spice flavors, but are subtly different. Every time I try them, my favorite flip flops.

Anaimalai India and coconut white chocolate: This combo is like eating a raspberry cheesecake — they compliment each other so well! (Read more about my white chocolate thoughts here.)

White chocolate with sweet nibs: Speaking of white chocolate, this bar is for you Hershey’s Cookies and Cream fans! The sweet nibs are perfection!

Rio Claro Trinidad: A limited edition treasure, this micro-batch is so exciting because it reminds me of another Solstice special edition Trinidad that was released in 2015, when I first started getting into bean-to-bar chocolate. Too nerdy? Maybe, but the tasty buttery flavor is worth trying, even if you aren’t nostalgic like me.

Here’s another exciting thing: for 25% off milk and dark chocolate bars, use this one time discount code: CHOCOLATIST25

The code is good today (Thursday, Nov. 23) through Saturday (Nov. 25). As a disclaimer, I will get a commission off your purchase if you use the code.

If you buy some, know that you’re getting someone the best gift (and hopefully you get yourself a bar, too! You deserve a treat!)

Ginny Romney

Also, happy Thanksgiving!

Yesterday I helped make five chocolate cream pies, including my annual bean-to-bar chocolate cream pie. (I actually have a little hot spot on my finger from whisking so much!) Really, I got ambitious and made two, one with Dandelion’s Kokoa Kamili Tanzania and the other with François Pralus’ Cuba. I’m curious to see which is more popular! If you didn’t get your fill of pies, are making yours last minute or need another for the glorious tradition of Pie Day Friday, here’s my family’s chocolate cream pie recipe that we’ve made for three generations.

Thanks for spending a few minutes with me; hope you get to enjoy some delicious chocolate today.